7 Year Itch

23 Jun

Monday (June 16) marked our seventh wedding anniversary.  Both of us remarked how fast time seems to go by, I feel like just yesterday we were walking down the aisle and partying into the wee hours of the night!

image

On our first wedding anniversary we planned and took a mini vacation weekend away to celebrate.  This year, I worked and because Tyler had his upcoming team camping trip the following Thursday, we didn’t have the time to celebrate until tonight.  How things change!

image

So young!

image

We left the girls with my in-laws and went out for dinner.  We enjoyed some drinks and an appy on the patio, and then our main course.  It was especially nice having some time to reconnect after Ty was away all weekend.

image

After dinner we drove around new subdivisions looking at houses (a favourite pass time of ours) and stopped for frozen yogurt.

7 years later, and I love my husband more than the day I married him.  I feel so blessed to have such a happy marriage with an amazing partner.  I love his sense of humor, love for life and a good party, his loyalty and commitment.  I am so lucky to be married to a man who kisses me goodbye in the morning, hello when he comes home and goodnight (not to mention the times in between).  Tyler tells me not only that he loves me, but that he appreciates me.  He helps me pursue my passions and makes me feel like the smartest person in the world.  He is a great communicator and I credit his persistence in face of my stubbornness as a reason why we don’t often fight.  Issues get laid out and dealt with in a timely manner, and it is because of him.

There is no one else in the world who has ever made me feel so physically comfortable in my own skin.  Before meeting Tyler, I did not like people in my space, but he was able to break my walls down.  We have been through the deepest grief and the highest joys together. 

Together, we created not only a marriage, but a family.  I am so thankful that Tyler is not only an amazing husband, but a top notch Dad.  I appreciate him being an equal when it comes to parenting, and nothing makes me happier than seeing he and the girls love on each other.  I have said it many times before, but it is such a juxtaposition watching a big man being so tender with tiny little girls, and it melts my heart every time.

So, no 7 year itch here.  I am happy to be celebrating anniversary #7, and hope to see #70 as well!

image

image

3 Responses to “7 Year Itch”

  1. Tawnya Faust June 23, 2014 at 11:04 pm #

    Love your relationship! So beautiful! And happy anniversary!! Xo

    • sunnykatie June 23, 2014 at 11:11 pm #

      You are so sweet, right back atcha!

  2. Jan June 24, 2014 at 6:33 am #

    Happy anniversary. Lovely post

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 481 other followers

